Chinese Latern Festival

Chinese New Year Year Lantern FestivalI wasn’t sure I would be getting back to this, but I learned something new about Chinese New Year and I promised I’d share.   The Lantern Festival falls on the 15th day of the first month of the Chinese lunar calendar. (That would be today this year!)   The Lantern Festival is held to mark the first full moon of the new lunar year. Chinese celebrate it by hanging colorful lanterns, playing games and gathering with friends.  I love the full moon, so a celebration with glowing lanterns spent with friends to mark the first full moon seems just right to me.  I don’t know of any particular celebrations going on tonight, and I didn’t really prepare.  So this year I will surf through Google images of Chinese lanterns and say “ooh”, and start looking for some colorful paper lanterns to hang on my porch this time next year.Chinese New Year Lantern Festival

This entry was posted in Celebrations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

